Thirty-five miles southeast of Regina, is the village of Sedley nestled among gently rolling fields of grain. Sunrises and sunsets are clearly visible from every home. The pioneer spirit that began back in 1902 is very much evident today. The founders of the town were primarily of Russo-German descent.
The original survey of lots for the town was a bit confusing is it was built square to the railroad rather than with the directions. The official land description is E.1/2 Sec17 Tp.14R.15W2ndM. in the District of Assiniboia. The first official survey was done by the CPR in 1903 and the plan of the subdivision of the section that would become the town was dated November 3, 1903. It was registered in the Land Titles Office at Regina on January 4th, l904 as plan No. B. 2867.
In 1902 Mr. R.W.Stayner set up the first business, his office sold real estate, insurance, he was the post master and loans officer. The first train came through in l904. That same year, Mr. F. W. Ferguson opened the first furniture store, and partnered with Oscar Edwards in the first implement agency. By l905 Lake of the Woods Milling Co. opened an elevator, liveries, blacksmiths and a hotel were open for business. Telephone service came to Sedley very early, around l916 and to begin with was open for calls between 10 am and 2 pm. Construction of a power station at Arcola began in 1923 and by December 20, 1927 just in time for Christmas, the lights went on in Sedley!
Taken from 100 years of Sedley, A History of our Town